Assault Defense Attorney in Rock Hill
If you’ve been in a fight or physical confrontation with another person and been arrested, you will probably be charged with assault. You can be charged with assault for punching someone or for fighting among other reasons. When assaults occur in domestic situations, prosecutors may charge someone with domestic violence.
Assault is the 5th most common charge among inmates in South Carolina’s correctional system.
As a former prosecutor and experienced defense lawyer, Nathan J. Sheldon understands how solicitors and criminal courts operate in Rock Hill, York County and the surrounding area. Whether you are facing a felony or misdemeanor charge, he’ll use his knowledge of the system to help defend you.
A Conviction on Assault Charges Will Change Your Life – You Need Legal Help
Call 803-504-3411 now to schedule your consultation.
Are Assault Charges a Felony?
Not all assault charges are felonies, but some are. Based on the circumstances of the altercation and the type of injuries sustained, the solicitor’s office may file criminal charges against you for a felony assault. The most serious charge in South Carolina is Assault and Battery of a High and Aggravated Nature when the prosecutor finds great bodily harm was caused. It is considered a lesser charge from attempted murder. This can result in up to 20 years in prison.
A 1st Degree Assault and Battery charge is also a felony and can result in up to 10 years in prison. First Degree Assault in South Carolina includes injuries during a robbery or kidnapping. It also includes non-consensual touching of private parts with lewd or lascivious intent.
Either felony charge could result in significant prison time, difficulty finding future employment and many additional impacts on your life. You’ll need legal advice from an experienced criminal law attorney to defend yourself.
2nd Degree Assault Charges
Although considered a misdemeanor in South Carolina, 2nd degree assault is more serious than you might expect. This involves physical harm that requires medical care. It also includes non-consensual touching of private parts. If convicted, you could be sentenced to up to 3 years in jail.
Simple Assault Charges (3rd Degree Assault)
The least serious of assault charges in commonly known as simple assault. This is a misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 30 days in which physical contact was made or an attempt to hurt someone happened. This is generally tried in Municipal or Magistrate’s court.
Defenses to Assault Charges
Assault charges can be dismissed for lack of evidence or other reasons, but charges are not just dismissed because the person identified as the victim requests it.
Self-defense and defense of others are two possible defenses. There are many strategies to achieving the best possible outcome for your case. The circumstances surrounding each case are different and will require a consultation to discuss the best way to defend you.